About WLC

The Winnipeg Labour Council (WLC) is this region's "House of Labour", or central labour body. Just as workers unite in a union to protect their rights, union locals unite in the Labour Council to further their aims and objectives. The WLC promotes the goals of the labour movement in Winnipeg at the municipal level.


Since it was founded in 1894, the Labour Council has served and represented workers in Winnipeg. A history of the first hundred years of the Winnipeg Labour Council is the subject of a booklet, which you can download here in PDF format (35 pages, 630 kb).  


The Labour Council's 73 affiliated union locals reflect the whole spectrum of organized labour in Canada. Public and private sector, clerical, service and industrial workers join together through the Labour Council to give a voice to their concerns.  Read More..

RadioLabour Daily

October 4, 2015

›   Listen Now!

International Labour News

Five minutes Monday-Thursday.
10 minutes every Friday
Developed and designed by HITEK:

HITEK specializes in Print, Design and Web Marketing Solutions. We are a Winnipeg based company serving businesses all across Canada and the United States. We are continually growing with today's technologies, broadening our services to deliver leading marketing strategies for our customers from Brand, Concept, Design to Print, Web, and On-line Marketing Solutions.

HITEK, also known as unionprinter.ca is a member of United Food and Commercial Workers, Local 832 and we proudly serve and support the union sector, associations and organizations and their movement to support and improve the lives of the working people.



Welcome to Winnipeg Labour Council


Next General Meeting

Next general meeting will be on October 20th, dinner and guest speaker at 6:00, meeting begins at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium at 275 Broadway.



November 15th - CCPA Brunch

Please join us on Sunday, November 15th at 10:00 am for the CCPA Brunch (Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives Manitoba, Errol Black Chair). 
Brunch will be held at the Hotel Fort Garry, 222 Broadway with Guest Speaker Kevin Chief & Honoured Guest Kathy Mallett. 

Please purchase tickets before November 6th.  Please see poster for details or contact Dave Sauer (204) 942-0522 for more information.

(Download Poster for details)


Committee Meeting Dates

Please mark your calendars and join us at the following Committee Meetings.  All meeting are in the WLC Boardroom (5th floor) and start at 5:30 pm, and are open to all WLC affiliates.

Community Services – October 5th
Education – October 6th
Action – October 7th
Equality and Social Justice – October 13th




Proceed To Home Page | Go to Event Page